Ohio History Connection Logo

About Us

Connecting people to the stories of Ohio

Sparking discovery of Ohio history!

Through the historic preservation of our communities, our critically acclaimed education programs, 1.9 million collected items and over 50 historic sites and museums, we are helping people connect with Ohio's past to understand the present and create a better future.

Core Values

  • Authenticity – Valuing “real stuff” and true stories of history 
  • Collaboration – Pursuing teamwork and sharing authority and responsibility
  • Relevance ­­­– Addressing the “so what?” of history for the diverse people of Ohio
  • Stewardship – Protecting the evidence of Ohio history

As a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization chartered in 1885, the Ohio History Connection and the State of Ohio have maintained a longtime public-private relationship whereby the Ohio History Connection carries out dozens of history services for Ohio and its citizens.

With over 180 staff members, hundreds of volunteers and thousands of partners in historical societies, local history groups and local and state government, the Ohio History Connection champions all Ohio history, including the more than 50 historic sites and museums in our network throughout Ohio.

From automobiles to wedding gowns, our collections document both the ordinary and extraordinary stories of Ohioans. We collect, preserve, catalog, manage and make available to the public a vast collection of nearly two million objects in our museums across Ohio, and in our flagship museum in the Ohio History Center. Additionally, serving as the State Archives, we allow people to discover the stories of the Ohioans who built our state’s farms, industries, businesses, schools, churches, social organizations, governments and communities.

Connecting people to the stories of Ohio is part of our daily work and it's accomplished in part through educational efforts such as sponsoring National History Day in Ohio and Ohio As America, an online textbook and curriculum for teaching the history of our state. Overseeing the Historical Markers program and the Local History Office are additional ways we connect people to Ohio history.

The Ohio History Connection's State Historic Preservation Office is the State Historic Preservation Office for Ohio. The Office nominates properties to the National Register of Historic Places, reviews rehabilitation work to historic buildings for tax credits, reviews federally assisted projects for effects on historic properties, qualifies communities for the Certified Local Government program and provides technical assistance and advice to the public.
 

Leadership Team

Burt Logan, Executive Director & CEO
614.297.2350, blogan@ohiohistory.org

Jackie Barton, Director, Museum and Library Services
614.297.2228, jbarton@ohiohistory.org

Stephen George, Senior Advisor to the CEO
614.297.2361, sgeorge@ohiohistory.org

George Kane, Director of Historic Sites & Facilities
614.297.2441, gkane@ohiohistory.org

Todd Kleismit, Director of Community & Government Relations
614.297.2355, tkleismit@ohiohistory.org

Stacia Kuceyeski, Director of Outreach
614.297.2574, skuceyeski@ohiohistory.org

Jamison Pack, Chief Marketing Officer
614.297.2312, jpack@ohiohistory.org

Amanda Schraner Terrell, Director of State Historic Preservation Office
614.298.2002, aterrell@ohiohistory.org

John Strick, Interim Chief Development Officer
614.297.2321, jstrick@ohiohistory.org

Jeff Ward, Chief Financial Officer
614.297.2401, jward@ohiohistory.org