Ohio Commission for the U.S. Semiquincentennial

The Ohio Commission for the U.S. Semiquincentennial (also referred to as America 250-Ohio) was formed in 2022 and is charged with preparing Ohio to participate in the nation’s 250th anniversary, which culminates on July 4, 2026. More information about the Commission and its responsibilities can be found in Section 149.309 of the Ohio Revised Code.

Get to Know America 250-Ohio

Todd Kleismit serves as the Commission’s executive director. Jodie Engle serves as the Commission’s project coordinator.

Commission members include:

  • Doug Preisse, Van Meter-Ashbrook & Associates (Commission co-chair)
  • Michael Coleman, IceMiller LLP (Commission co-chair)
  • State Sen. Hearcel Craig, Ohio Senate
  • Kathryn Dean-Dielman, Lorain County Historical Society
  • Kelly Falcone Hall, Western Reserve Historical Society
  • John Fleming, museum professional
  • Thomas Hankins, Hocking Valley Chapter president of the Sons of the American Revolution/Friends of Fort Laurens
  • Nancy Hollister, former governor/lieutenant governor/legislator
  • State Rep. Adam Holmes, Ohio House of Representatives
  • Melinda Huntley, Ohio Travel Association executive director
  • Vincent Keeran, Ohio Senate Clerk
  • State Sen. George Lang, Ohio Senate
  • Montgomery County Commissioner Deborah Lieberman, County Commissioners’ Association of Ohio president
  • Matt MacLaren, Tourism Ohio chief
  • State Rep. Joe Miller, Ohio House of Representatives
  • Charley Moses, Ohio History Connection board president
  • Kimberly Murnieks, Office of Budget and Management director
  • Maureen O’Connor, Ohio Supreme Court chief justice
  • Paul Oyaski, former mayor of Euclid/Cuyahoga County development department
  • Elizabeth Pierce, Cincinnati Museum Center executive director
  • Ted Strickland, former governor/former member of Congress
  • Ginger Warner, Ohio Arts Council board president
  • Mackensie Wittmer, National Aviation Heritage Area (Dayton) executive director
  • Wendy Zucal, immediate past president of the Ohio Local History Alliance/executive director of the Dennison Railroad Depot
  • Megan Wood, executive director of the Ohio History Connection (Ex-Officio/Commission secretary)

Listening Sessions

July 12: Marietta

down arrow right arrow

3 p.m. at Campus Martius Museum

Aug. 3: Cincinnati

down arrow right arrow

`10 a.m. at the Cincinnati Museum Center and 4:30 p.m. at Esoteric Brewing

Aug. 4: Toledo

down arrow right arrow

5 p.m. at the Toledo Lucas County Public Library

Aug. 17: Steubenville

down arrow right arrow

6:30 p.m. at Historic Fort Steuben (120 S. 3rd St., Steubenville, OH 43952)

Steubenville Listening session

Aug. 18: Columbus

down arrow right arrow

5 p.m. at the Ohio History Center in the Auditorium (800 E. 17th Ave., Columbus, OH 43211)

Columbus Listening session

Aug. 24: Dayton

down arrow right arrow

1:30 p.m. at Carillon Historical Park (1000 Carillon Blvd., Dayton, OH 45409)

Dayton Listening session

Aug. 24: Lancaster

down arrow right arrow

7 p.m. at Allen Chapel Church (221 E. walnut St., Lancaster, OH 43130)

Lancaster Listening Session

Aug. 25: Cleveland

down arrow right arrow

Noon and 6 p.m. at the Western Reserve Historical Society (10825 East Blvd., Cleveland, OH 44106)

Cleveland Listening Sessions

Aug. 30: Lima

down arrow right arrow

5:15 p.m. at the Allen County Museum and Historical Society (620 W. Market St., Lima, OH 45801)

America 250 - Lima Ohio Listening Session

Sept. 1: Canton

down arrow right arrow

4:30 p.m. at the McKinley Presidential Library & Museum (800 McKinley Monument Dr., NW Canton, OH 44708)

Canton Listening Session

The next meeting of the Ohio Commission for the U.S. Semiquincentennial is scheduled for 11 a.m. on Friday, September 16 at the Ohio History Center (800 E. 17th Ave. Columbus, OH 43211) in the Cardinal Classroom. The meeting is open to the public.



Todd Kleismit, Executive Director  

Email here


Jodi Engle, Project Coordinator  

Email here