Ohio History Connection Announces New Board Members June 2016

Ohio History Connection Announces New Board Members
Robert W. Lucas of Greater Toledo Area Elected Board President

(COLUMBUS, OH)-The Ohio History Connection announces new board members and officers for 2016-2017:

Robert W. Lucas of Pemberville, President*
Mr. Lucas is retired president of United Way of Greater Toledo and former president and CEO of DeNovo, Inc. “Robert is an exceptional leader and is tremendously dedicated to the support of Ohio History,” says Burt Logan, Executive Director & CEO of the Ohio History Connection. “We are pleased to have him as our new board president and we’re confident that his skills and experience will allow us to continue our success in the years to come.”

From 1971 through 1999, he was a senior executive with Huntington National Bank, including president & CEO of Huntington Mortgage Company and the Huntington Leasing Company in Columbus as well as president of Huntington National Bank of Northwest Ohio. He is a current member of the Toledo Rotary and the Memorial Chapter 45 of the Special Forces Association. He has also served as a member of the Maumee Valley Heritage Corridor.

The following people have been elected or reelected as officers of the board of trustees:

Ronald J. Ungvarsky of Bexley, Vice President Mr. Ungvarsky has over 17 years of experience in the areas of natural resources, mining law, public lands, health care, transportation, energy, appropriations, education, legislative operations and constituent relations.

Suhas Kakde of Dayton, Treasurer Mr. Kakde is the founder and CEO of US Aeroteam in Dayton, a manufacturer of ground support equipment and aircraft engine parts for the aviation and national defense industry.

James A. Wilson of Bexley, Secretary Mr. Wilson is a partner in the law firm Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease in Columbus, where his practice focuses on antitrust and other business litigation.

The following people have joined the Ohio History Connection’s board of trustees:

Loann W. Crane of Columbus was elected to a second three-year term. Ms. Crane is a Director of The Crane Group and currently serves on the boards of the Columbus Museum of Art, the Ohio State University Foundation and the Franklin County Education Association.

George Ironstrack of Oxford was elected to a third three-year term. Mr. Ironstrack serves as the Assistant Director of the Myaamia Center at Miami University. He is a citizen of the Miami Tribe of Oklahoma and has assisted in the organization and administration of the tribe’s Eewansaapita Summer Educational Experience since its inception in 2005.

Charles C. Wright of Cincinnati was elected to a first three-year term. Mr. Wright is CEO and owner of Wright Brothers Inc., a leader in bioscience, research and industrial gas services in Cincinnati. Charlie is also an award-winning instructor in Research and Development Management for the University of Cincinnati Evening College and board member and current chairman for Ohio Valley Goodwill Industries.

Trustees leaving the board:
Glenda S. Greenwood–appointed by Governor Strickland, served 2007–2016
Roderick H. Willcox–member-elected, served 2007–2016
Nancy Putnam Hollister–appointed by Governor Kasich, served 2011–2016

Additional members of the board of trustees include:

Thomas V. Chema
C. Ellen Connally*
James F. Dicke II*
Richard F. Hillis*
Joseph M. Patchen
Michael G. Rapp*
Elizabeth A. Weibel*

The Ohio History Connection board of trustees meets four times a year. Meetings are open to the public. For more information, visit ohiohistory.org/about-us/board-of-trustees.

*Indicates governor-appointed members.


Ohio Historical Society is now Ohio History Connection
On May 24, 2014, the Ohio Historical Society changed its name to the Ohio History Connection. Established in 1885, this nonprofit organization provides a wide array of statewide services and programs related to collecting, preserving and interpreting Ohio’s history, archaeology and natural history through its more than 50 sites and museums across Ohio, including its flagship museum, the Ohio History Center in Columbus. For more information about programs and events, call 800.686.6124 or go online at www.ohiohistory.org.

Posted June 30, 2016

Subscribe to Our Blogs