Certified Local Governments

The Certified Local Government (CLG) Program facilitates cooperation between state and local governments with Federal partners to promote nationwide preservation initiatives. Through the certification process, local communities make a commitment to national historic preservation standards. This commitment is key to America's ability to preserve, protect, and increase awareness of our unique cultural heritage found across the country. Certified Local Governments range from small villages to major urban centers. Once certified, Certified Local Governments may compete annually for grants to help carry out a wide range of historic preservation activities.

On this page you can learn about becoming a CLG, grant eligibility requirements and the annual grant cycle, and view sample language for a Local Historic Preservation Enabling Ordinance online.

Contact Us

Location Information

800 E. 17th Ave., Columbus, OH 43211
(*Required Fields)