Ohio History Connection Logo

About Us

Connecting people to the stories of Ohio
Share this page:

Mission

Spark discovery of Ohio's stories. Embrace the present, share the past and transform the future.

Core Values

  • Relevance- Addressing and communicating the significance of history with Ohio's diverse people
  • Authenticity- Valuing artifacts and true stories of history
  • Inclusivity- Appealing to all Ohioans, especially underserved audiences
  • Stewardship- Protecting the evidence of Ohio history
  • Working Together- Pursuing teamwork and sharing authority and responsibility

As a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization chartered in 1885, the Ohio History Connection and the State of Ohio have maintained a longtime public-private relationship whereby the Ohio History Connection carries out dozens of history services for Ohio and its citizens.

With over 180 staff members, hundreds of volunteers and thousands of partners in historical societies, local history groups and local and state government, we champion all Ohio history, including the more than 50 historic sites and museums in our network throughout Ohio.

From automobiles to wedding gowns, our collections document both the ordinary and extraordinary stories of Ohioans. We collect, preserve, catalog, manage and make available to the public a vast collection of nearly two million objects in our museums across Ohio, and in our flagship museum in the Ohio History Center. Additionally, serving as the State Archives, we allow people to discover the stories of the Ohioans who built our state’s farms, industries, businesses, schools, churches, social organizations, governments and communities.

Connecting people to the stories of Ohio is part of our daily work and it's accomplished in part through educational efforts such as sponsoring National History Day in Ohio and Ohio As America, an online textbook and curriculum for teaching the history of our state. Overseeing the Historical Markers program and the Local History Office are additional ways we connect people to Ohio history.

We also serve as the State Historic Preservation Office for Ohio. We nominate properties to the National Register of Historic Places, review rehabilitation work to historic buildings for tax credits, review federally assisted projects for effects on historic properties, qualify communities for the Certified Local Government program and provide technical assistance and advice to the public.
 

Leadership Team

Burt Logan, Executive Director & CEO
614.297.2350, blogan@ohiohistory.org

Jackie Barton, Chief Programs Officer
614.297.2228, jbarton@ohiohistory.org

Stephen George, Senior Advisor to the CEO
614.297.2361, sgeorge@ohiohistory.org

George Kane, Director of Historic Sites & Facilities
614.297.2441, gkane@ohiohistory.org

Todd Kleismit, Director of Community & Government Relations
614.297.2355, tkleismit@ohiohistory.org

Stacia Kuceyeski, Director of Outreach
614.297.2574, skuceyeski@ohiohistory.org

Jamison Pack, Chief Marketing Officer
614.297.2312, jpack@ohiohistory.org

Amanda Schraner Terrell, Director of State Historic Preservation Office
614.298.2000, aterrell@ohiohistory.org

Jeff Ward, Chief Financial Officer
614.297.2401, jward@ohiohistory.org

Related Blog Posts and News Stories