Ohio History Connection Logo

State Historic Preservation Office Awards

Recognizing Achievements in Historic Preservation

Each year, the State Historic Preservation Office recognizes achievements in historic preservation by presenting awards in Public Education and Awareness, and Preservation Merit. Nominations are due June 1. Click here for the nomination form. 

The Public Education and Awareness Award is for increasing interest in historic preservation. Eligible activities include, but are not limited to, media, newsletters, publications, interpretation, original research, educational programs, and special events which have substantially increased public understanding and awareness of historic preservation at the local, regional, or state level.

The Preservation Merit Award is for preserving Ohio's prehistory, history, architecture, or culture. Eligible activities include, but are not limited to, restoring, rehabilitating, or otherwise preserving an important building or site, longtime stewardship of a property, promoting protective legislation, funding preservation projects, offering leadership, support, or service, and furthering preservation at the local, regional, or state level. 

Click here to see a list of all past award recipients.

2014 Recipients 

Public Education and Awareness

Hancock Historical Museum for the Hancock County Historic Barn Tour

Laura Henderson for her efforts to raise awareness of the value and benefits of historic preservation as a member of the Historic and Architectural Preservation Commission in Oxford

ARTneo, Trinity Cathedral and Cleveland Public Library for the exhibit Charles F.  Schweinfurth: Uncompromising Architect of Cleveland’s Valiant Age 

Preservation Merit

Oberlin College and Westlake Reed Leskosky for the preservation and rehabilitation of the 1913 Apollo Theatre at 19 East College Street in Oberlin

American Veterans Heritage Center and the Dayton Veterans Administration Medical Center for preservation of the Grotto at the Dayton Veterans Administration Medical Center 

Great Lakes Theater Festival, PlayhouseSquare and Westlake Reed Leskosky for the preservation and rehabilitation of the Hanna Theater at 2037 East 14th Street in Cleveland

Friends of Goodale Park, Columbus Recreation and Parks Department, Rogers Krajnak Architects, Quality Masonry and smARTworks for restoration of the 1870 Goodale Park Gates

Jennings Memorial Association for the preservation and rehabilitation of Jennings Memorial Hall at 364 Water Street in Fort Jennings

Arc of Appalachia Preserve System, The Archeological Conservancy, Heartland Earthworks Conservancy, Rivers Unlimited and Hopewell Culture National Historical Park for the acquisition and preservation of the Junction Group Earthworks in Ross County

Mitchell’s Homemade Ice Cream and Dimit Architects for rehabilitation of the 1919 Rialto Theatre at 1867 West 25th Street in Cleveland

City of Athens, Jones-Stucky, Limited, Michael Baker, Inc. and Shelly & Sands, Inc. for preservation and rehabilitation of the Richland Avenue Bridge in Athens

Village of Evendale and the Evendale Cultural Arts Center for the preservation and rehabilitation of Evendale School at 10600 Reading Road in Evendale as the Evendale Cultural Arts Center

Dave LaRoe for the long-term preservation of the Kerr Dry Goods Building as LaRoe’s Restaurant at 24138 Front Street in Grand Rapids

St. Luke’s Church, Midstate Contractors and NRC Engineering for the preservation and rehabilitation of the 1837 St. Luke’s Church at 107 East Broadway in Granville

Ralph and Patricia Alexander for the preservation and rehabilitation of the John T. Wilson Homestead at 92 Old State Route 32 in Peebles

Related Blog Posts and News Stories