Ohio History Connection Logo
Michael G. Rapp, Ph.D.Meet Ohio History Connection trustee Michael G. Rapp from Cincinnati
Share this page:


Drake University – Bachelor’s Degree
DePaul University – Master’s Degree
University of Minnesota - Doctorate in United States history with a specialization in immigration and ethnicity

Michael G. Rapp is Executive Director Emeritus of the Jewish Community Relations Council of Cincinnati; an Adjunct Professor in the Xavier University Department of Theology; and an Adjunct Assistant Professor in the University of Cincinnati Department of Judaic Studies.

Active in community life for over 30 years,he has served on executive committees of the Metropolitan Area Religious Coalition of Cincinnati and Hamilton County Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services Board; Northwest Ordinance and United States Constitution Bicentennial Commission of the State of Ohio; boards of the Isaac M. Wise Temple and NAACP;and Steering and History Committees of the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center. Currently on the Blue Ash Charter Revision Committee, he is a member of the Blue Ash Republican Club, Blue Ash-Ilmenau Sister City Committee,the national board of the Jewish Institute for National Security Affairs and the Japanese-American Citizens League, and the editorial board of the Journal of International Security Affairs.

Professionally, he is a member of the Organization of American Historians, American Jewish Historical Society,Immigration and Ethnic History Society, National Association of Scholars and Ohio Association of Scholars. In recognition of his accomplishments in the field of inter group relations, he has received awards from the Ohio Civil Rights Commission; Health Alliance of Greater Cincinnati, Baptist Ministers Conference of Greater Cincinnati and Vicinity and University of Cincinnati Medical Center;National Conference of Christians and Jews; Cincinnati Human Relations Commission; and the Jewish Federation of Cincinnati.

Michael and his wife, Andrea, have lived in Blue Ash since 1979.

Serving first term; term ends 2015

Related Blog Posts and News Stories