Ohio Heritage Areas

National Heritage Areas

U.S. National Heritage Areas are designated areas in the United States, authorized by the U.S. Congress, to encourage the preservation of history in areas of distinctive human impact on the landscape. Sometimes variations of the name are used but National Heritage Area is the name of the classification. National Heritage Areas do not preserve or control any land but seek to promote tourism and to conserve natural, cultural, historic, and scenic features and preserve the traditions, customs, beliefs, and folk life that are a valuable part of the national story. The National Park Service provides assistance in establishing the areas but has no ongoing role. Click here for more information about National Heritage Areas. Ohio currently has two National Heritage Areas:

Ohio & Erie National Heritage Cooridor (Ohio & Erie Canalway)

Ohio & Erie Canal Corridor Coalition

National Aviation Heritage Area

Other Heritage Areas in Ohio

Ohio's Hill Country Heritage Area
Ohio Lincoln Highway Historic Byway
The Historic National Road in Ohio